Leicester City to travel 6,000 miles to play Midlands rivals West Brom in Asia Trophy

Leicester City to travel 6,000 miles to play Midlands rivals West Brom in Asia Trophy



Comments (0)

Leicester City will play West Brom in the semi-final of the Premier League Asia Trophy in Hong Kong this July.

City’s participation in the pre-season tournament was confirmed last week, with Liverpool, Crystal Palace and the Baggies named as the other competitors.

Liverpool have announced they will take on Palace at the Hong Kong Stadium on Wednesday, July 19, meaning City face Tony Pulis’s side.

Victory for City over West Brom would see them qualify for the final on Saturday, July 22, and book a meeting with the winners of Liverpool’s clash with Palace. Defeat would leave them in a third-place play-off against the other losing side, also to be played on the Saturday.

Read more: Harvey Barnes’ breakthrough season continues with England debut

Liverpool, the only club of the four to have previously played in the tournament, and Palace are scheduled to kick off at 1.30pm BST (8.30pm in Hong Kong) in their semi-final. Based on previous timings for the Asia Trophy, City’s friendly with West Brom is likely to begin at 11.00am BST (6.00pm in Hong Kong), although this is not yet confirmed.

The matches will be shown live on Sky Sports, meaning fans do not have to travel nearly 6,000 miles to see City take on Midlands rivals West Brom, who are based 40 miles from Leicester.


City’s confirmed pre-season fixtures:

– City v West Brom, July 19, 11.0, Hong Kong Stadium

– City v Liverpool/Crystal Palace, July 22, 11.0/1.30, Hong Kong Stadium

– Luton v City, July 26, 7.45, Kenilworth Road

– MK Dons v City, July 28, 7.45, Stadium MK

– Wolves v City, July 29, 3.0, Molineux

– Burton v City, August 1, 7.45, Pirelli Stadium