Almost RM40 million collected in tourism tax so far

KUALA LUMPUR: As of December last year, the government has collected RM39,975,634.00 in tourism tax, says Tourism and Culture Minister, Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Aziz.

Nazri said each state would receive RM5 for every RM10 collected. This, he said, marks an increase from the RM1 rate states had previously received.

TravelWireNews Chatroom for Readers (join us)

“Each state can use this allocation to develop their own tourism sector, especially in aggressively promoting their destinations, organising tourism events, human capital development and small-scale tourism development projects,” he said in the Dewan Rakyat today.

Details of collection by states are as follow: Perlis RM10,962; Kedah RM827,998; Penang 3,881,655; Perak 471,191; Selangor 2,028,827; Kuala Lumpur 16,625,258; Putrajaya 1,846,970; Negri Sembilan RM987,257; Melaka RM1,334,165; Johor RM2,716,739; Pahang RM3,473,803; Terengganu RM298,319; Kelantan RM56,514; Labuan RM60,290; Sabah RM4,530,628 and Sarawak RM879,058.

Nazri said the payment would be made every three months, channelled directly to the respective state governments.

He was responding to a question from Loke Siew Fook (DAP-Seremban) who had asked him to state the details of tourism tax collected by the ministry every month since its implementation.

* Reports by Mohd Anwar Patho Rohman, Idris Musa, Rizanizam Abdul Hamid, Luqman Arif Abdul Karim,Farhana Syed Nokman and Nor Ain Mohamed Radhi

%d bloggers like this: