N. Korea, Venezuela, Chad among 8 countries on new US travel ban

N. Korea, Venezuela, Chad among 8 countries on new US travel ban
In a photo taken on July 19, 2017 a tourist poses for a photo before the Taedong river in Pyongyang.
The Westerners lined up before giant statues of North Korea’s founder Kim Il-Sung and his son and successor Kim Jong-Il on Sunday and, on command from their guide, bowed deeply – a ritual that the Trump administration intends to stop US tourists performing, with Washington due to impose a ban on its citizens holidaying in the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), as the North is officially known. / AFP PHOTO 

WASHINGTON, United States (AFP) — North Korea, Venezuela and Chad were added Sunday on a new list of countries targeted by a US travel ban due to poor security and lack of cooperation with American authorities.

Sudan, one of six majority-Muslim countries on the original travel ban, was removed from the list, leaving eight nations with complete or partial blocks on travel to the United States.

TravelWireNews Chatroom for Readers (join us)

Full travel bans were placed on nationals from North Korea and Chad, while the restrictions for Venezuela were limited to officials from a long list of government agencies and their families.

Other countries included in the ban were Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia and Yemen.

© Agence France-Presse

%d bloggers like this: