Puerto Vallarta Film Festival ready for 18th Edition

This post was originally published on this site

The International Film Festival in Puerto Vallarta (FICPV) will celebrate its 18th edition from March 12-23, 2018 with over 40 films under eleven categories: Official, Academic, Senior, Environmental, Cross-border Cinema, Short Films, Echoes of the Cork Film Festival, Gourmet, Children, Musical and Maguey Award.

TravelWireNews Chatroom for Readers (join us)

“Puerto Vallarta,city of film” is the theme of this year’s FICPV as the festival seeks to honor the cinematographic history of the destination, starting with the 1963 filming of director John Huston’s, Night of the Iguana to the Bradly Cooper vehicle Limitless in 2011 and Sundown in 2016.

Following the theme, films will be screened in and around Puerto Vallarta Parks including Los Arcos del Malecón amphitheater, Lázaro Cárdenas and Los Sauces parks, The Jazz Foundation, La Isla Shopping Village and the Office of Cultural Projects (OPC). The festival will be based in the Puerto Vallarta campus of the University of Guadalajara.

Highlights of the festival include the Mexican premiere of the 3D documentary, “The wonders of the sea,” directed by Jean-Michel Cousteau, son of the legendary explorer and conservationist Jacques Cousteau, and narrated by the American actor Arnold Schwarzenegger.

As part of FICPV’s partnership with International Film Festival in Guadalajara (FICG), the festival will include a presentation of Irish short films by Fiona Clark of the Cork Film Festival, and the presence of the International Festival of the New Latin American Cinema of Havana, Cuba through its director, Iván Giroud Gárate, and the director of Public Relations, Exhibitions and Marketing,Yumey Besú Payo.

Premio Maguey, now on its 5th year as part of the festival, will feature a selection of four queer / LGBTTTI films under the theme “Over the Rainbow,” including “Elrepostero de Berlin,” a collaboration between Premio Maguey and the International Jewish Film Festival.

TheFICPV’s prestigious “Iguana de Oro” award will recognize director, screenwriter and producer Erika Lust; director and television producer, Dan Attias; the documentary by Jean-Michel Cousteau and Jean-Jacques Mantello, “The wonders of the sea”; and Irish screenwriter Mark O’Halloran. Ofelia Medina, Victoria Abril, Bianca Jagger, Elpidia Carrillo, Giovanna Zacarias, Alfonso Arau, Jim Sheridan, Ron Perlman, Lazar Ristovski, have been recipients of the Iguana de Oro award.

According to FICPV’s organizers, the 17th edition of the festival had a record 15,152 attendance in 12 days.

Read the full article: https://www.eturbonews.com/179584/puerto-vallarta-film-festival-ready-18th-edition

%d bloggers like this: